Chapter 5. Cisco IDS Architecture and Communications Protocols

[ LiB ]  

Terms you'll need to understand:

  • mainApp

  • cidWebServer

  • cidCLI

  • Network Access Controller (NAC)

  • sensorApp

  • EventStore

  • Transaction Server

  • Event Server

  • IP Log Server

  • VirtualSensor

  • PostOffice Protocol

  • Remote Data Exchange Protocol (RDEP)

  • Subscriptions

  • Managed devices

Techniques you'll need to master:

  • Recognizing the RDEP pulling event process

  • Understanding the communications protocols used by director platforms

  • Understanding the communication protocols used by the IDS Event Viewer (IEV) and Security Monitor

  • Understanding the communication protocols used to control managed devices

  • Creating user accounts

The Cisco Intrusion Detection System (IDS) Sensor underlying architecture has changed dramatically with the release of Cisco IDS 4.0. In IDS 4.0, Cisco has changed the operating system, changed the communication protocols between directors and monitoring stations , and limited access to the operating system shell. This chapter offers a high overview of the Cisco IDS 4.0 architecture and the communication protocols it now uses.

[ LiB ]  

CSIDS Exam Cram 2 (Exam 642-531)
CSIDS Exam Cram 2 (Exam 642-531)
Year: 2004
Pages: 213 © 2008-2017.
If you may any questions please contact us: