|< Day Day Up >|
Microsoft Project 2003 gives users the ability to store multiple versions of a project plan. Each version is a complete copy of the plan at the time it was saved as a new version, and all the versions are stored on the Project server.
The Published version name is automatically created when Microsoft Project is installed, and cannot be renamed or deleted. Every project schedule saved to the Project server must have a Published version, and may have other versions.
The Project server administrator defines the versions other than Published that are available to the organization. Users can store copies of their plans in any of the available versions
To add a new version name for project managers to use, follow these steps:
To modify a version, select the version to be changed and then select Modify Version, as shown in Figure 25.6. The parameters associated with modifying a version are identical to adding a new version, as described earlier in this section.
To delete a version, select the version to be deleted and then click Delete Version, as shown in Figure 25.6. For a version to be successfully deleted, there must be no project schedules currently saved with that version. If project schedules are currently saved with the version you are trying to delete, you are prompted with an alert that lists the associated projects.
For information on how versions work with cross-project links, see "Using Project Versions, Including the Published Version," p. 981 .
Adding the Version Field to Views
Since Project 2002, which allows multiple versions, it is possible to have multiple lines in a view for a single project. Otherwise, you will see the same project listed twice, without knowing which project version you are viewing. To address this issue, the Version field has been added to the list of fields available when creating or modifying views.
Add the Version field to all views that contain the Project Name field, to avoid confusion and misunderstanding.
|< Day Day Up >|