The Development Center uses projects to logically group a set of related application objects for the developer. A project can even reference application objects from multiple databases. There can also be multiple and varying copies of the same procedure open in different projects. Each project will have its own local copy of all its procedures. This code can be saved, and it will not overwrite copies from other projects. The procedure code will be saved into the database when it is built. If a different copy of the procedure from another project is built, the new code from the second project will overwrite the code from the first project at the database server. Example 1 illustrates this concept.
Two projects, projectA and projectB, both contain a copy of procedure procTest from the same database.
User1 opens up projectA and edits its copy of procTest to have a return code of 4.
User2 opens up projectB and also edits its copy of procTest to have a return code of 3. There are now two versions of the procedure open.
User1 then builds procTest. If the procedure is now run, the return code will be 4. The code for procTest that User2 has open is not affected by User1's actions.
User2 then builds her copy of procTest. User2 will be asked if she wants to drop the old copy of the procedure (built by User1) and build a new one. If she chooses to build the procedure, then the return code of the procedure will be 3.
New projects can be created by selecting New Project from the Project pull-down menu. Multiple projects can be open in the Development Center at the same time. Projects can be opened from the Project pull-down menu by selecting the Open option. The Remove Project option will delete the project from memory but will not delete the application objects that were successfully built on the database. Be sure to save all your projects to ensure that all your changes to the project are kept. If you do not save the project and have not built the stored procedure, then your changes will be lost. Procedure changes will not take effect on the database until they are built, despite the project having been saved.