2.8 Classes of Service


Fibre Channel classes of service are managed by the FC-2 level. Currently there are three classes of service defined by the standard:

  • Class 1 ” Dedicated connection service.

    - Connection-oriented

    - Acknowledged delivery

  • Class 2 ” Multiplexed service.

    - Connectionless

    - Acknowledged delivery

  • Class 3 ” Datagram service. This is the current class of service provided for by Hewlett-Packard. The device drivers determine if data is not received and needs to be retransmitted.

    - Connectionless

    - Unacknowledged delivery

Other classes of service may follow. However, they are currently not defined.


Fibre Channel for Mass Storage
Fibre Channel for Mass Storage
EAN: 2147483647
Year: 1999
Pages: 53

flylib.com © 2008-2017.
If you may any questions please contact us: flylib@qtcs.net