Chapter Summary

[Previous] [Next]

The following points summarize the key concepts of this chapter:

OSI Reference Model

  • The OSI reference model architecture divides network protocols into seven layers: the application, presentation, session, transport, network, data-link, and physical layers.
  • Microsoft Windows NT groups the OSI reference model into three layers: file system drivers, transport protocols, and NIC drivers.
  • The Windows NT network model requires three interfaces to provide communication between groups: APIs, TDIs, and NDISs.

IEEE 802.x

  • IEEE 802 standards define the specifications for NICs, WAN components, and media for the data-link and physical layers of the OSI reference model.
  • 802.3 defines Ethernet specifications.
  • 802.5 defines Token Ring LAN specifications.
  • The IEEE 802 standards divide the data-link layer into two subgroups: Logical Link Control (LLC) and Media Access Control (MAC).

Device Drivers and OSI

  • A driver is a program that gives directions to the computer for how to operate a device.
  • In networking, drivers are needed to provide the software connection between the computer and the NIC.
  • NIC drivers reside in the MAC sublayer of the data-link layer of the OSI reference model.
  • NDIS is a standard that defines the interface for Windows NT Server and Warp Server.
  • ODI is a standard that defines the interface for Apple and Novell systems.

MCSE Training Kit Networking Essentials Plus 1999
MCSE Training Kit: Networking Essentials Plus, Third Edition (IT Professional)
ISBN: 157231902X
EAN: 2147483647
Year: 2005
Pages: 106 © 2008-2017.
If you may any questions please contact us: