Section 6.13. Summary

6.13. Summary

Capability Maturity Model Integration is a process improvement framework established by the Software Engineering Institute of Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. CMMI represents a collection of 22 Process Areas consisting of a series of industry-recognized best practices for IT development. Adopters use the Process Areas as a foundation upon which they develop processes and process program components.

Unofficially, the Process Areas can be organized as falling into four general categories:

  • Project management: process areas to help you develop estimates, plan projects, monitor and control project status, manage suppliers and vendors, address and mitigate risks, and quantitatively project progress and process performance

  • Project support: process areas to help you ensure the integrity of work products, address change control and change management, guide critical decision making, plan for and deploy root-cause analyses, measure process performance and product quality, and audit process and standards compliance

  • Engineering: process areas to help you elicit, define, and manage requirements; develop and deploy appropriate technical solutions; coordinate product integration and assembly; verify and validate product performance; and conduct peer reviews

  • Process management: process areas to help you institutionalize process assets across the organization, provide training on process program elements, and establish an environment for overall process improvement

Process Improvement Essentials
Process Improvement Essentials: CMMI, Six SIGMA, and ISO 9001
ISBN: 0596102178
EAN: 2147483647
Year: 2006
Pages: 116

Similar book on Amazon © 2008-2017.
If you may any questions please contact us: