Notice that the changes we made to the template for the profile have been lost. See pages 6869 for more information on personalizing how your profile is displayed.
leave comments p. 73
It might seem strange to sign out at the top of the page just to sign back in at the bottom. Since Blogger recognizes you from your sign in, you must sign out in order to pretend to be a visitor to your blog. Another way to simulate being one of your own visitors is to open a different browser (or a different computer) and look at your blog from there.
Blogger's default settings require visitors to sign inand thus have a Blogger accountbefore they can leave comments. While this can help protect your blog from unwelcome comment spam, it can also keep visitors from making legitimate comments. I show you how to accept comments from anyone, even without a Blogger account, on page 76.
allow anonymity p. 76
You can also be more restrictive, allowing only team members (which we'll discuss later in this chapter) to comment.
delete comments p. 77
Visitors can also remove their own comments as long as they have signed in with the same Blogger account that they used when posting the comment.
Nobody besides the commenter and the blog owner will see the garbage can icon.
I don't like how the commenter's Blogger name and a link to their profile remains when the comment is deleted. I show you how to hide comments completely on page 79, but unfortunately, there's no way currently to hide only the offending comments without affecting the good ones.
stop comments p. 78
You can let people add comments again at any time by going back to the Posting | Edit page for that entry and clicking Yes under Allow New Comments on This Post.
If you'd like to not only disallow future comments but also hide any comments that have already been posted, click No & Hide Existing Comments instead of just No. Note that hidden comments are not permanently deleted and will reappear if you choose a different option for Allow New Comments on This Post.
hide comments p. 79
Comments are not deleted when you hide them. If you decide you want to show them again, you can click Show on the Settings | Comments page. That also means you can't delete all the comments and start over from scratch. The old comments remain (though you can delete them as described on page 77).
add a team member p. 81
New team members will be able to post, edit, and delete their own entries, but won't be able to modify other members' posts or change the blog's settings.
If you change your mind about adding a new member, or if you add the wrong email address, you can cancel the invitation by clicking the Remove checkmark next to the person's address in the Open Invitations table.
join a team blog p. 82
If the person who you invite to your blog is already signed in to Blogger when they respond to your email invitation, they'll see a slightly di.erent screen:
Unfortunately, if the friend responding to your invitation shares a computer with someone else, and that person is logged into Blogger with their own account when your friend responds to your invitation, the other person will be added as a team member instead of your friend. In that case, you should remove that team member and try again (see page 81).