Earlier, I mentioned that jobs sent to unavailable printers (if they're unavailable because of a schedule) will wait in the print queue. The print queue is where jobs stand in line before being serviced by the print device. By default, these jobs are deleted from the queue after they've been sent out a port to a waiting print device. This is useful behavior, as it keeps the queue from filling up with old documents, consuming unnecessary disk space.
At times, however, you might find it useful to keep jobs in the queue even after they have been sent to the print device. For example, if you have a problem with a print job that allows it to complete but not satisfactorily (the printer runs out of toner, for example), you have to open the application and resubmit the job. For particularly large documents and some applications, reprinting the job from the application could take several extra minutes.
As a safeguard, you could instruct XP to keep documents in the queue even after they've printed by following these steps:
Now documents will be saved even after printing. Keep in mind that this requires additional disk space and that you will need to manually remove documents from the queue after they are successfully printed. Easily done: right-click a job in the queue and choose Delete from the context menu.