What s in This Book?

What's in This Book?

This book consists of 18 chapters. Here is a brief overview of each chapter:

  • Chapter 1, sets the stage for the book by covering where you can find the tools used in the book, VBScript and Perl issues to consider, and where to find additional information.

  • Chapter 2, covers how to create and remove forests and domains, update the domain mode or functional levels, create different types of trusts, and other administrative trust tasks.

  • Chapter 3, covers promoting and demoting domain controllers, finding domain controllers, enabling the global catalog, and finding and managing Flexible Single Master Operations (FSMO) roles.

  • Chapter 4, covers the basics of searching Active Directory; creating, modifying, and deleting objects; using LDAP controls; and importing and exporting data using LDAP Data Interchange Format (LDIF) and comma-separated variable (CSV) files.

  • Chapter 5, covers creating, moving, and deleting Organizational Units, and managing the objects contained within them.

  • Chapter 6, covers all aspects of managing user objects, including creating, renaming, moving, resetting passwords, unlocking, modifying the profile attributes, and locating users that have certain criteria (e.g., password is about to expire).

  • Chapter 7, covers how to create groups, modify group scope, and type and manage membership.

  • Chapter 8, covers creating computers, joining computers to a domain, resetting computers, and locating computers that match certain criteria (e.g., have been inactive for a number of weeks).

  • Chapter 9, covers how to create, modify, link, copy, import, back up, restore, and delete GPOs using the Group Policy Management Console and scripting interface.

  • Chapter 10, covers basic schema administration tasks, such as generating object identifiers (OIDs) and schemaIDGUIDs, how to use LDIF to extend the schema, and how to locate attributes or classes that match certain criteria (e.g., all attributes that are indexed).

  • Chapter 11, covers how to manage sites, subnets, site links, and connection objects.

  • Chapter 12, covers how to trigger and disable the Knowledge Consistency Checker (KCC), how to query metadata, force replication, and determine what changes have yet to replicate between domain controllers.

  • Chapter 13, covers creating zones and resource records, modifying DNS server configuration, querying DNS, and customizing the resource records a domain controller dynamically registers.

  • Chapter 14, covers how to delegate control, view and modify permissions, view effective permissions, and manage Kerberos tickets.

  • Chapter 15, covers how to enable auditing, diagnostics, DNS, NetLogon, Kerberos and GPO logging, obtain LDAP query statistics, and manage quotas.

  • Chapter 16, covers how to back up Active Directory, perform authoritative and nonauthoritative restores, check DIT file integrity, perform online and offline defrags, and search for deleted objects.

  • Chapter 17, covers creating and managing application partitions.

  • Chapter 18, covers how to integrate Active Directory with various applications, services, and programming languages.

Active Directory Cookbook
Active Directory Cookbook, 3rd Edition
ISBN: 0596521103
EAN: 2147483647
Year: 2006
Pages: 456

Similar book on Amazon

flylib.com © 2008-2017.
If you may any questions please contact us: flylib@qtcs.net