Recipe 15.2 Enabling Diagnostics Logging

15.2.1 Problem

You want to enable diagnostics event logging because the current level of logging is not providing enough information to help pinpoint the problem you are troubleshooting.

15.2.2 Solution Using a graphical user interface
  1. Run regedit.exe from the command line or Start Run.

  2. In the left pane, expand HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE System CurrentControlSet Services NTDS Diagnostics.

  3. In the right pane, double-click on the diagnostics logging entry you want to increase, and enter a number (0-5) based on how much you want logged.

  4. Click OK. Using a command-line interface
> reg add HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\NTDS\Diagnostics /v[RETURN] "<LoggingSetting>" /t REG_DWORD /d <0-5> Using VBScript
' This code sets the specified diagnostics logging level ' ------ SCRIPT CONFIGURATION ------ strDC   = "<DomainControllerName>"  ' e.g. dc01 strLogSetting = "<LoggingSetting>"  ' e.g. 1 Knowledge Consistency Checker intFlag = <FlagValue>               ' Flag value in decimal, e.g. 5 ' ------ END CONFIGURATION --------- const HKLM = &H80000002 strRegKey = "SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\NTDS\Diagnostics" set objReg = GetObject("winmgmts:\\" & strDC & "\root\default:StdRegProv") objReg.SetDwordValue HKLM, strRegKey, "LogFlags", intFlag WScript.Echo "Diagnostics logging for " & strLogSetting _              & " set to " & intFlag

15.2.3 Discussion

A useful way to troubleshoot specific problems you are encountering with Active Directory is to increase the diagnostics logging level. Diagnostics logging can be enabled by component. For example, if you determine the Knowledge Consistency Checker (KCC) is not completing every 15 minutes, you can enable diagnostics logging for the "1 Knowledge Consistency Checker" setting.

These settings are stored under HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\NTDS\Diagnostics. By default, all settings are set to 0, which disables diagnostic logging, but you can increase it by setting it to a number from 1 through 5. As a general rule, a value of 1 is used for minimum logging, 3 for medium logging, and 5 for maximum logging. It is a good practice to ease your way up to 5 because some diagnostics logging settings can generate a bunch of events in the event log, which may make it difficult to read, along with increasing resource utilization on the domain controller.

Here is the complete list of diagnostics logging settings for Windows Server 2003. Note that settings 20-24 are not available on Windows 2000-based domain controllers.

1 Knowledge Consistency Checker 2 Security Events 3 ExDS Interface Events 4 MAPI Interface Events 5 Replication Events 6 Garbage Collection 7 Internal Configuration 8 Directory Access 9 Internal Processing 10 Performance Counters 11 Initialization/Termination 12 Service Control 13 Name Resolution 14 Backup 15 Field Engineering 16 LDAP Interface Events 17 Setup 18 Global Catalog 19 Inter-site Messaging 20 Group Caching 21 Linked-Value Replication 22 DS RPC Client 23 DS RPC Server 24 DS Schema

15.2.4 See Also

MS KB 220940 (How to Enable Diagnostic Event Logging for Active Directory Services)

Active Directory Cookbook
Active Directory Cookbook, 3rd Edition
ISBN: 0596521103
EAN: 2147483647
Year: 2006
Pages: 456 © 2008-2017.
If you may any questions please contact us: