Chapter 1. The PMP Exam

Terms you'll need to understand:

  • PMP

  • PMI

  • CCRs

  • PDUs

Techniques and concepts you'll need to master:

  • What the PMP Exam is

  • What PMI is

  • What the process groups are

  • The differences between core processes and facilitating processes

  • The mapping of the 39 project management processes to the five project management process groups and the nine project management knowledge areas

The Project Management Professional (PMP) certification is the premier credential recognized internationally in the Project Management discipline. It signifies an individual has the process knowledge, experience, and training required to practice the methodologies prescribed by the Project Management Institute (PMI). It has become a professional standard and prerequisite for countless organizations and companies.

According to PMI, there are currently more than 50,000 PMP certifications in more than 120 countries, and the numbers continue to grow at a vigorous rate. To contrast this number, note that there were only 10,000 PMP certifications by the year 2000. As these statistics demonstrate, many individuals are just becoming aware of the certification and PMI. This incredible growth is expected to continue.

Industries that rely on PMP certification include information technology, telecommunications, construction, healthcare, government, and numerous other professions. Because project management is a relatively new discipline, the growth rate of the certification credential is incredible and will continue to expand to other disciplines, including engineering, medicine, and aerospace, among others. Many corporations are now requesting PMP certification as a requirement for career development or as a prerequisite to employment.

The requirements for PMP certification are extensive. PMI requires specific educational and experience attributes before an application can be submitted. The "PMP Certification Handbook" is a good source for explanation of the required educational and work background.

Upon completion of the requirements and passing of the exam, additional continuing certification requirements have to be fulfilled in order to maintain certification. The Continuing Certification Requirements (CCRs) mandate that you accumulate at least 60 Professional Development Units (PDUs) every 3 years after achieving your PMP certification. PDUs can be accumulated by attending various PMI programs, seminars, and educational opportunities.

PMP Exam Cram 2. Project Management Professional
PMP Exam Cram 2. Project Management Professional
Year: 2003
Pages: 169 © 2008-2017.
If you may any questions please contact us: