Appendix B: Sample Exam 2


The following questions will help you measure your understanding of the material presented in this book.

As discussed in the introduction, the RHCE exam consists of two different, equally weighted exams: Troubleshooting and System Maintenance (2.5 hours) and Installation and Configuration (3.0 hours). There are RHCE and RHCT components on each exam. To earn the RHCE, you need to meet the following requirements.

On the Troubleshooting and System Maintenance exam, you need to

  • Successfully complete all five RHCT-level problems within the first hour.

  • Answer enough RHCE requirements (three of five) to earn an overall section score of 80 (of 100).

On the Installation and Configuration section, you need to

  • Earn a score of 70 or higher on the RHCT components.

  • Address enough issues correctly to get a grade of 70 on the RHCE components.

Both exams are "closed book." However, you are allowed to use any documentation that you can find on the Red Hat Enterprise Linux computer, such as man pages. You are allowed a pen or pencil and paper to make any notes that you might need.

If you pass the RHCT components of both exams, you'll qualify as a Red Hat Certified Technician. If you pass the RHCT and RHCE components of both exams, you will also become a Red Hat Certified Engineer.

In most cases, there is no one solution, no single method to solve a problem or install a service. There are a nearly infinite number of options with Linux, so I can't cover all possible scenarios.

RHCE Red Hat Certified Engineer Linux Study Guide (Exam RH302)
Linux Patch Management: Keeping Linux Systems Up To Date
ISBN: 0132366754
EAN: 2147483647
Year: 2004
Pages: 227
Authors: Michael Jang © 2008-2017.
If you may any questions please contact us: