Section 8.2. Summary

8.2. Summary

  • ISO 9001:2000, CMMI, and Six Sigma share many similar characteristics.

  • The programs can be implemented independently or in tandem with one another.

  • ISO 9001:2000 is a generic quality standard that can be implemented in any production environment.

  • ISO 9001:2000 may be best used in organizations where the quality system required crosses many different types of functional areas.

  • The Capability Maturity Model Integration is a process improvement model specifically designed for use in technology development environments.

  • CMMI may be best used in IT shops that are charged with systems and software development.

  • Six Sigma is a process improvement approach based in statistical analyses and geared toward shaping process to reflect the Voice of the Customer.

  • Six Sigma may be best used in environments that are transaction intensive: those in which many similar actions are run through a set of stable processes.

Process Improvement Essentials
Process Improvement Essentials: CMMI, Six SIGMA, and ISO 9001
ISBN: 0596102178
EAN: 2147483647
Year: 2006
Pages: 116 © 2008-2017.
If you may any questions please contact us: