In this lesson you learn about restoring data. The ability to restore corrupt or lost data is critical to all corporations and is the goal of all backup jobs. To ensure that you can successfully restore data, you should follow certain guidelines, such as keeping thorough documentation on all of your backup jobs.
To restore data, you must select the backup sets, files, and folders to restore. You can also specify additional settings based on your restore requirements. The Backup or Restore Wizard helps you restore data.
When critical data is lost, you need to restore it quickly. Use the following guidelines to help prepare for restoring data:
The first step in restoring data is to select the data to restore. You can select individual files and folders, an entire backup job, or a backup set, which is a collection of files or folders from one volume that you back up during a backup job. If you back up two volumes on a hard disk during a backup job, the job has two backup sets. You select the data to restore in the catalog.
To restore data, use the Restore Wizard, which you access through the Backup Utility, as follows:
The Backup or Restore Wizard displays the settings for the restore.
The advanced settings in the Backup or Restore Wizard vary, depending on the type of backup media from which you are restoring, such as a tape device or an Iomega Zip drive. Table 16.3 describes the advanced restore options.
Table 16.3 Advanced Restore Settings
Restore Files To
The target location for the data that you are restoring. The choices are as follows:
Original Location. Replaces corrupted or lost data.
Alternate Location. Restores an older version of a file or does a practice restore.
Single Folder. Consolidates the files from a tree structure into a single folder. For example, use this option if you want copies of specific files but do not want to restore the hierarchical structure of the files.
If you select either an alternate location or a single directory, you must provide the path.
When Restoring Files That Already Exist On Your Computer
Whether you want to overwrite existing files. The choices are as follows:
Leave Existing Files (Recommended). Prevents accidental overwriting of existing data. This setting is the default.
Replace Existing Files If They Are Older Than The Backup Files. Verifies that the most recent copy exists on the computer.
Replace Existing Files. The Backup Utility does not provide a confirmation message if it encounters a duplicate filename during the restore operation.
Select The Options You Want To Use
Whether you want to restore security or special system files. The choices are as follows:
Restore Security Settings. Applies the original permissions to files that you are restoring to a Windows NT file system (NTFS) volume. Security settings include access permissions, audit entries, and ownership. This option is only available if you have backed up data from an NTFS volume and are restoring to an NTFS volume.
Restore Junction Points, But Not The Folders And File Data They Reference. Restores junction points on your hard disk as well as the data that the junction points refer to. If you have any mounted drives, and you want to restore the data that mounted drives point to, select this check box. If you do not select this check box, the junction point is restored but the data your junction point refers to might not be accessible.
Preserve Existing Volume Mount Points. Prevents the operation from writing over any volume mount points you have created on the partition or volume to which you are restoring data. This option is primarily applicable when you are restoring data to an entire drive or partition.
After you have finished the Backup or Restore Wizard, the Backup Utility does the following:
In this practice, you restore a file that you backed up in Exercise 1 in Lesson 2 of this chapter.
To complete this practice, you must have completed the practice in the previous lesson, or you must have some files you have backed up using the Backup Utility that you can restore.
The Backup or Restore Wizard displays the What To Restore page.
Notice that Backup1 is listed.
Notice that drive C appears under Backup1.
The Backup or Restore Wizard displays the Completing The Backup Or Restore Wizard page. Notice that the file is being restored to its original location and that the existing files are not to be replaced.
The Backup or Restore Wizard displays the Where To Restore page.
The Backup or Restore Wizard displays the Alternate Location box.
The Backup or Restore Wizard displays the How To Restore page, prompting you to specify how to process duplicate files during the restore job.
The Backup Utility displays the Check Backup File Location dialog box, prompting you to supply or verify the name of the backup file that contains the folders and files to be restored.
The Backup Utility displays the Selection Information dialog box, indicating the estimated amount of data for, and the time to complete, the restore job. (This dialog box may appear very briefly, because you are restoring only a single file.)
The Backup Utility displays the Restore Progress dialog box, providing the status of the restore operation, statistics on estimated and actual amount of data that is being processed, the time that has elapsed, and the estimated time that remains for the restore operation.
Notepad starts, displaying the report. Notice that the details about the restore operation are appended to the previous backup log. This provides a centralized location for viewing all status information for backup and restore operations.
The following questions will help you determine whether you have learned enough to move on to the next lesson. If you have difficulty answering these questions, review the material in this lesson before beginning the next lesson. The answers for these questions are in Appendix A, "Questions and Answers."