Podcasting-Related Web Sites


Podcasting-Related Web Sites

This section includes links to all Web sites relating to podcasting as an entity. These sites provide information about the community, as well as links to software and podcasts. These are the first sites that a new podcaster should visit to get a feel for the community.

Our podcast

To listen to the podcast made especially for this book, check out:

www.peachpit.com/podcasting

General podcasting Web sites

These Web sites are catch-all reservoirs of podcasting information. Most of these sites contain how-to information, a top-10 list of podcasts, a large bank of podcast feeds, and links to the latest and greatest software for podcasting-related activities.

Audio.weblogs.com: http://audio.weblogs.com

iPodder.org: www.ipodder.org

Podcast Alley: www.podcastalley.com

The Podcast Bunker: www.podcastbunker.com

Podcast Central: www.podcastcentral.com

PodcastExpert.com: www.podcastexpert.com

Podcast.net: www.podcast.net

The Podcast Network: www.thepodcastnetwork.com

Podcasting News: www.podcastingnews.com

Podcasting Tools: www.podcasting-tools.com

General search engines

These are the search engines you can use to scour the World Wide Web for anything related to podcasting. These engines gather data by the minute, so making the same search every day or so often yields different results.

AltaVista: www.altavista.com

Ask Jeeves: www.ask.com

Google: www.google.com

Lycos: www.lycos.com

MSN: www.msn.com

Yahoo!: www.yahoo.com

Podcast search engine

Although any search engine, such as Yahoo! or Google, can come up with all things podcasting, only one currently is dedicated to searching for specific words or phrases in podcasts themselves.

Podscope: www.podscope.com

Podcasting-related sites

These Web sites are not catch-all podcasting sites, but they often contain valuable information for some topic that's podcast related.

Engadget: www.engadget.com

Podcasting Avenue: http://podcasters.blogspot.com

Portable Media Expo: www.portablemediaexpo.com

Really Simple Syndication Web sites (RSS)

These Web sites cover everything from the history of RSS to the down-and-dirty details of the specification itself.

Berkman Center for Internet & Society (Harvard University): http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/tech/rss

RSS Digest: www.bigbold.com/rssdigest

Music legalities

These are the various Web sites where Creative Commons–licensed music is available and where you can learn about Creative Commons. I have also included the license links for both ASCAP and BMI.

ASCAP Internet License Agreements: www.ascap.com/weblicense

BMI Web Site Music Performance Agreement: www.bmi.com/licensing/forms/Internet0105A.pdf

Creative Commons: http://creativecommons.org

The Freesound Project: http://freesound.iua.upf.edu/index.php

Opsound: www.opsound.com

Podcasting software: Aggregators (podcatchers)

These are the programs that go out and grab the podcasts for you to listen to. Some of the podcast aggregators listed here are not covered in this book; however, I thought it worthwhile to list them here for your convenience.

Bashpodder: http://linc.homeunix.org:8080/scripts/bashpodder

CastGrab: www.fubarpa.com/projects/castgrab

Doppler: www.dopplerradio.net

FeedDemon: www.bradsoft.com/feeddemon/index.asp

FeederReader: www.feederreader.com

HappyFish: http://thirstycrow.net/happyfish/default.aspx

iPodder: www.ipodder.org

iPodder.NET: http://ipoddernet.sourceforge.net

iPodderSP/Skookum: www.equin.co.uk/ipoddersp

iPodderX: http://ipodderx.com

iTunes 4.9: www.apple.com/itunes

jPodder: www.jpodder.com

Nimiq: www.nimiq.nl

Now Playing: http://brandon.fuller.name/archives/hacks/nowplaying

PlayPod: www.iggsoftware.com/playpod/index.html

PocketRSS: www.happyjackroad.net/pocketpc/pocketRSS/pocketRSS.asp

Podcast Tuner: www.podcasttuner.com

PoddumFeeder: www.ifthensoft.com/index2.html

Pod2Go: www.kainjow.com/pod2go

ppcTunes: www.pocketmac.net/products/ppctunes

Primetime Podcast Receiver: www.primetimepodcast.com/blog/default.aspx

RSSRadio: www.dorada.co.uk

Podcasting software: Creating podcasts

This is the software that you use to create podcasts from scratch. From recording the content to editing out mistakes and inserting music, these are the programs that do it.

Adobe Audition 1.5: www.adobe.com/audition

Audacity: http://audacity.sourceforge.net/download

GarageBand: www.apple.com/garageband

iPodcast Producer: www.industrialaudiosoftware.com/products/index.html

Propaganda: www.makepropaganda.com

Sound Byte: www.blackcatsystems.com/software/soundbyte.html

Sound Recorder (Windows): www.microsoft.com

Sparks! 2.0: www.blogmatrix.com

Podcasting software: Publishing podcasts

These are the links for the software packages I've recommended that can help you create an RSS feed with ease.

Feeder: www.reinventedsoftware.com

FeedForAll: www.feedforall.com

iPodcast Producer: www.industrialaudiosoftware.com/products/index.html

Live365 (streaming): www.live365.com/index.live

Nicecast (streaming): www.rogueamoeba.com/nicecast

Propaganda: www.makepropaganda.com

Sparks! 2.0: www.blogmatrix.com

Publishing podcasts: Web-site hosting solutions

These are the two sites I recommend if you are interested in paying a hosting service that specializes in podcasts to host your files.

Liberated Syndication: www.libsyn.com

Podbus.com: www.podbus.com

Commercial podcast sources

It goes without saying that I can't possibly list every commercial venture that has podcasts available. That said, these are the major sites that you can visit just to get the flavor of what's available.

Audible.com: www.audible.com

AudioBooksForFree.com: www.audiobooksforfree.com

Audiobooks Online: www.audiobooksonline.com

Blackstone Audiobooks: www.blackstoneaudio.com

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation: www.cbc.ca

iTunes Music Store: www.apple.com/itunes/store

National Public Radio: www.npr.org

Other software

These are links to software that is mentioned in the book, from media players to Web-page design programs.

Dreamweaver: www.macromedia.com/software/dreamweaver

FrontPage: www.microsoft.com

GoLive: www.adobe.com/products/golive/main.html

QuickTime: www.apple.com/quicktime

RealPlayer: www.realnetworks.com

Replay Radio: http://www.replay-radio.com

Windows Media Player: www.microsoft.com

Top podcasts

To come up with this list, I went to Podcast Alley and took the top 15 podcasts from its voted top-50 list.

  1. "This Week in Tech": http://thisweekintech.com

  2. "The Dawn and Drew Show": www.dawnanddrew.com

  3. "Free Talk Live": http://freetalklive.com

  4. "Catholic Insider": www.catholicinsider.com

  5. "EarthCore: A Podcast Novel": www.scottsigler.net/earthcore

  6. "Slacker Astronomy": www.slackerastronomy.com

  7. "The MacCast": www.maccast.com

  8. "CURRY.COM: Adam Curry's Weblog": http://live.curry.com

  9. "Coverville": www.coverville.com

  10. "Geek News Central": www.geeknewscentral.com

  11. "The Specialist and AKG Show": http://specialistandakg.com

  12. "Slice of Sci-Fi": http://sliceofscifi.com

  13. "Keith and The Girl": http://shitecom.libsyn.com

  14. "The Bob and AJ Show": www.bobandaj.info

  15. "The Bitterest Pill": www.thebitterestpill.com

Hardware

These links take you to the various companies that manufacture the hardware discussed in this book.

Apple Computer: www.apple.com

Audio-Technica: www.audiotechnica.com

Behringer: www.behringer.com

COWON America: http://eng.cowon.com

Creative: www.creative.com

Edirol: www.edirol.com

Electrovoice: www.electrovoice.com

Griffin Technology: www.griffintechnology.com

iRiver: www.iriver.com

JVC: www.jvc.com

Labtec: www.labtec.com

Logitech: www.logitech.com

M-Audio: www.m-audio.com

Rio Audio: www.digitalnetworksna.com/rioaudio

Sony: www.sony.com

Other interesting sites

These are a collection of other interesting Web sites that are related to podcasts and/or podcasting in some way.

Duke University iPod First-Year Experience: www.duke.edu/ipod

How-To Podcasting: www.engadget.com/entry/5843952395227141

Podcast about the Podcast: http://reelreviewsradio.com/archives/2004/12/27/podcast-about-the-podcast